The Curriculum

All children will be respected and their individuality and potential recognised, valued and nurtured. Activities and the use of play equipment offer children the opportunity to develop in an environment free from prejudice and discrimination. Appropriate opportunities will be given to children to explore, acknowledge and value similarities and differences between themselves and others.

The curriculum is divided into 6 different areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

We have then divided the indoor and outdoor spaces into areas of learning, where children can free flow within the space and are able to access the equipment and activities allowing them to learn and develop to their full potential.

Each child in the Nursery has a key worker assigned to them who is there to support their development and act as the key point of contact with parents and carers. They are also there to monitor the child’s progress and keep records about each child in their care.

Each child also has a ‘Learning Journal’, this is a record of their time at Little Tinkers. We put work and photographs to document their development and progress throughout their time at the Nursery. This record is then used to complete assessment records for their transition to school.